Katy Perry shows her political side

Photo credit to Perry_Vickers_Jonas_Lavigne

In Rolling Stones’ June 2011 issue, pop icon Katy Perry issues an offbeat remark as she talks about the dominance of finance capital, “revolutionary change” and universal healthcare:

It just feels like the thing running our country is a bank, money. I know it sounds like an intense viewpoint, but I’m only slowly but surely getting the wool taken off my eyes. When I was a kid, I asked questions about my faith. Now I’m asking questions about the world. I think we are largely in desperate need of revolutionary change in the way our mindset is. Our priority is fame, and people’s wellness is way low. I say this knowing full well that I’m a part of the problem. I’m playing the game, though I am trying to reroute. Anyway, not to get all politically divulging and introspective, but the fact that America doesn’t have free health care drives me f**king absolutely crazy, and is so wrong.

Leave a Reply

