2011 beat

For more than three years, Audacity, a digital editor/recorder application, has remained unused in our Jurrasic desktop computer. I initially installed it for the editing of a recording which I made two years ago. But I didn’t get a hand on the software, until this New Year eve, when I thought of welcoming 2011 with a personalized beat.

Fascinated by Black Eyed Peas, I tried splicing some of their songs (mostly from their newest album “The Beginning) using Audacity. I laced the resulting beat with a few familiar sounds from today’s hip-hop/RnB hits. Here are the “ingredients”:

-The Time (Dirty Bit) by BEP
-Don’t Stop the Party by BEP
-Let’s Get Restarted (a remake of Let’s Get it Started, from the deluxe edition) by BEP
-Firework by Katy Perry
-2012 by Jay Sean ft. Nicki Minaj
-Who’s that Chick by Rihanna
-We No Speak Americano by Yolanda be Cool
(plus the opening snare of Callalily’s “Dream”)

Okay, without further ado, here’s a sample of my very amateur remix:

If the media player fails to appear, click here

P.S.

Initially, I was not inclined to listening to these kind of songs (which are best appreciated by party animals). But through the blaring-speakers-treatment every time I stay at my siblings apartment, I learned how to get into the groove.

Leave a Reply

